Register | Sign In
Los Angeles > Reviews > Pets > Seaaca

Seaaca

3.5***~

based on 8 reviews

9777 Seacca St.
Downey, CA 90241
(562) 803-3301

Edit

Category: Pets
Tags: animal shelters, (one found dog lost at downey seacca), seaaca, dog adopted

I am the owner of this business

Accepts Credit Cards: yes
Parking: Private Lot
Wheelchair Accessible: yes

8 reviews for Seaaca

Seaaca
Avatar_thumbnail
lisa john Send private message

Reviews
Written: 1

1.0*
No opinions about this review
08/27/2011

well...,
We adopted a shitzu today from the downey seacca shelter. The place is utterly heartwrenching to see, and the poor dogs for the most part, seems like they are on death row, just waiting their turn. We went to this shelter three times in the past two weeks, hoping to find "the one", and finally today we did. But my heart just aches for the dogs still there. The staff is decent enough, but so overworked and most likely way underfunded, so it is not their fault. The cages don't look like they ever get cleaned and their are about 9-10 dogs in each one, just huddled together in their own waste. I cried each time i was there, caz of course i want to take them all, but can't.
The good news about this place: in the three times we were there, i saw two owners come and claim back their lost dogs! One today, in fact! very cool! And also, people do adopt there, like we have. So there is some hope for some of them.
People, GO RESCUE and Adopt These dogs!!!! if ever there was a need, it is here! and so many cute ones to choose from too!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Seaaca
Avatar_thumbnail
diane n. Send private message

Reviews
Written: 1

5.0*****
No opinions about this review
07/24/2010

I adopted my pug Herbie the Love Pug on March 17 2009, and he is the most amazing little guy. The folks at Seacca dont have an easy job, so I give them credit for what they do. The front office staff wasa helpful and kind, and most of the attendants in the back were the same. When I first met Herbie, it was his first day at the shelter .He was terrified, surrounded by other dogs including a real hyper jack russel, and the attendant was kind, went into Herbies kennel, and rescued him from his crazy humping cell mate. I was first on the list to adopt Herbie, tho had to wait 7 days. I went to see him every day til his release, and the staff couldnt have been nicer even tho they saw me every day. Overall I was very happy with the entire process

Seaaca
Avatar_thumbnail
Sandra V. Send private message

Reviews
Written: 1

5.0*****
0 out of 1 find this review helpful
06/21/2010

We just adopted an amazing older dog at SEAACA! I don't usually post about places we visit but I saw a disturbing post about SEAACA and I felt I needed to share our experience there.

First off, this is the cleanest shelter around. They have the absolute nicest people working there, including some young volunteers eager to help. We looked for almost a month to find the right dog for our family and finally we came across Rex, a Boston mix who is about 6 years-old. We got to meet with him, visit daily and were the first hold on him too! There were four others after us with their name on the card and no one showed but us on his availability date, so he's ours!

I would recommened this shelter to anyone looking to bring a new pet into their lives. Never have we been treated so nicely by any staff anywhere. Nordstroms, watch out. The staff at SEAACA do it right! Thank you to everyone we came into contact with! Rex thanks you too for taking such good care of him.

Hide comments

07/24/2010

I too, had an amazing experience there

Reply

Seaaca
Avatar_thumbnail
one found dog lost Send private message

Reviews
Written: 1

1.0*
1 out of 1 find this review helpful
05/02/2010

my wife and I went to this location to adopt a dog on 4/28/10 and it was the worst exspirance ever. we made 3 choices our first choice was a pup they let us interact with the dog then took us to the front pulled the paper work and told us there where 8 other families interested come back on 4/29/10 if none of the other families show up the dog is yours, on our second choice we never interacted with the dog but was taken to the front were we were told there was one other family, our third choice they had no paper work on the dog at all, we interacted with the dog liked the dog and was told they needed to track the paper work down and that they would call us that afternoon and let us know. the call never came. they ran the scanner to find out if the dog had a chip it did not, i called the very next morning and was told the man i talked to was busy and had no time to answer my call. I went back on 4/30/10 to check on the pup and he was still there, i checked on the dog with no paper work he was also still there with no paper work , my wife and i went back on 5/1/10 and the pup was gone but the one i have the concern for was still there with no paper work I was told the dog had an owner if so then why have they made no attempt to at least generate paper work and post the dog on there web site i was told by one handler that the dog had been there for at least a month they have made no effort to save this dog. I have told my wife i will not give up until either the dogs owner has possesion or we have possesion of the dog. I am sorry but my wife and I feel this facility has no interest in saving dogs they are the most unprofessional group of personell a state owned and operated facility could employee I am very disappointed and hurt that our state allows this to continue, the animals in this facility have no chance of servival or adoption at all. there motto is ( at downey seacca we uthenize) I am going find someone to help change the way this facility operates on a rating from 1 to 10 a zero. we did adopt a dog from long beach facility they were very prefessional very helpful and it was a very nice exspirance.

Seaaca
Avatar_thumbnail
Frances G. Send private message

Reviews
Written: 1

4.0****
1 out of 3 find this review helpful
04/17/2010

I have to say that I found the Southeast Area Animal Control Authority (SEAACA) to be very professional. We went to 3 other local Animal Control Centers (Baldwin Park, San Gabriel Valley and Pasadena) and was very disappointed when I got there. I know that they are predominantly run by volunteer and I came in with that knowledge but I was surprised how unprofessional those who were paid staff were. I did not find that at SEAACA. You walked in and you felt you were walking in a lobby. It was very clean and organized and we had no problem finding someone to answer our questions. I acknowledge that who ever is the manager of the front area has done an exceptional job. All local animal control should come here and learn how to run a front office. I found them very friendly and professional and we had to come in multiple days with different staff. I also found that the "staging area" was very well thought our and presented. Yes I am sure they would like it bigger so that the animals could have more room but they have done a wonderful job with what they have. I felt like I was in a pet shop or a kennel and not a "doggy jail". The dogs seemed happy and the volunteers also seemed happy. That I am sure is do to a good staff and a very good executive director. We not only picked up a stray dog but 2 beautiful and loving labs. Even in the midst of a bad situation (do to human error, the dog we had adopted and fallen in love with was already promised to another by accident) the staff apologized and tried there best to make it better...and they did the best they could with a very sad situation. I appreciate the professional and caring way Michelle tried to take care of the problem (how do you consol a 4 year old who was just told her dog that you bought and named "Abbey "is no longer hers?...very bad morning) Michelle did everything she could to help fix the situation...though nothing can replace a dog you have already fallen in love with. We even visited her all week long to pet her and get her use to us since we were # 1 on the list. From what I saw at the other Animal Control centers they would not have handled it so well. In the future I will only come to the SEAACA. Even the animals were healthier looking.

Hide comments

05/02/2010

i agree with you something needs to be done with this facility it should not be allowed to operate this way lets start a petition and get it changed for the animals sake.

06/21/2010

You're scary and probably shouldn't be in animal shelters anyway! SEAACA is incredible and they showed us that they care, love animals and are dedicated to serving the public. We will always go back and refer everyone we know to them when they're looking for a new companion pet.

Reply

Seaaca
Avatar_thumbnail
DALE DOLLINS Send private message

Reviews
Written: 1

1.0*
2 out of 2 find this review helpful
03/01/2010

These people don't care about animals and can't talk to humans. If there needs to be budget cuts, this is the place to start.

Seaaca
Avatar_thumbnail
staccig08 Send private message

Reviews
Written: 1

5.0*****
1 out of 4 find this review helpful
04/28/2009

I Adopted my Valerie From SEAACA on March 6th 2009 and it was the best thing I've ever done. This place is great, they do there best to find homes for these animals and there adoption fee is only $100... and you recive your pet microchiped, spayed/neutered, first round of shots, and with 30 day advantage, plus 20 day Vet care at no charge!! There great, my Valerie is happy to have a forever home and i have a forever friend... Thanks SEAACA!!!

Hide comments

03/01/2010

They probably took it from another owner for barking.

04/17/2010

sounds like a cute dog

06/21/2010

We feel the same! SEAACA is amazing and we love our new dog!

10/13/2010

Yea barking !!! If your dog barks and a neighbor camplains you might have to move or as they say silence the dog with surgery yes I was told because my dog ,s bark at squirells ,racoons on our fence that I need to silence them .Nothing said abouts the loud mouth neighbor and surgery

Reply

Seaaca
Avatar_thumbnail
MRSMORAN021308 Send private message

Reviews
Written: 1

5.0*****
1 out of 4 find this review helpful
04/25/2009

i just adopted a Shih Tzu girl from here yesterday!
only $100!!

I LOVE HER!
SEAACA IS AMAZING!
GREAT SERVICE 100%!

Hide comments

11/13/2009

No bloody way, the staff are extremly rude, they make it exremly dificult to adopt a pet, they give you attitude for no reason and they scream....the manager was the worse, she walked about, showing a careless persona towards us the animal owners....no customer service what so ever!!!! NO compassion towards the dificult situation one is in when tryint to reunite with ones lost pet!!! Even the place is horrible, my dog lost weight whille under there care.....I wish someone with higher authority can come in and show this witches some sort of ethical behavior classes...and proper customer service....if these people keep getting away with treating people and animals as they currently do, the animals are the ones that will suffer, i mean arent they there to help?????? They seem to only go in to collect a pay check and forgott why they initially went there to work!!!!!

03/01/2010

The people at this location are the "DOG NAZIS". They will come out and take your dog so that they can turn around and sell it.

Reply

* Rating

click to rate

* Your Review

Tags: animal shelters, (one found dog lost at downey seacca), seaaca, dog adopted

Add tags: (comma separated)
Example: pizza, pasta, italian

Do You Already Have an OhSoHandy.com Account?  

I'm sorry but you do not appear to have javascript turned on. Don't blame you with all the popups out there. :) Please login or register before creating a new ad.

View Larger Map/Directions »