Register | Sign In
Los Angeles > Reviews > Professional Services > Extras Management

Extras Management

2.5**~

based on 8 reviews

207 Flower St
Burbank, CA 91503
(818) 972-9474

Edit

Category: Professional Services
Tags: employment agencies, extra work, background work, casting, kids, extras, movies, jobs, acting, actor, actress, extras management, uncut casting, cut above casting, background actor, extra

I am the owner of this business

Accepts Credit Cards: yes
Parking: Street

Blank_business_medium
0 photos

8 reviews for Extras Management

Extras Management
Avatar_thumbnail
talken Trooth Send private message

Reviews
Written: 1

1.0*
No opinions about this review
08/27/2014

I love the above shills^Give me a break. Does Kevin put you guys up to this? Extras is a scam. I've talked to at least 20 people who say the same thing. They give you the minimal work to keep the monthly fee and lie to you about submitting your profile. They are lying and tons of people know this. Proof of their greed is that they stand in front of Central Casting, who is across the street from them, and get people to sign up. There is no capping of talent. This screws people who are already signed up. They are litters and thieves. Welcome to Hollywood!

Extras Management
Avatar_thumbnail
GuitarMan Send private message

Reviews
Written: 1

3.0***
0 out of 1 find this review helpful
02/26/2014

They will surly get you work.... More at first, then as months go by, less and less. In all honesty, they charge way too much for the work that you get. If you did convert their fee to a commission structure, yes it would be almost 50%.

I was lucky a few times in that I got called back and would work for a week or more on one show. I thought,wow, Extras is really okay and I should give them a good review. They got me in the door. My own work on set generated the call backs.

However, if you don't get a chance to get through the door, then forget the opportunity regarding a call back, or even work that might be 3- 4 days a week on various shows and productions. The longer you are with them, the less work you will get. Absolutely true.

Two other agencies that will do a better job for you they are:

Cut Above Casting... $140 to join and $80.00 a month. they truly do work harder to land you bookings and the results are proof in the pudding. You might work 10-13 days in a month with them, and 3-5 days in same month if you were with Extras. Can't guarantee that obviously, but first hand experience says it is true. Much better than Extras all the way around.

Now this next agency is about the closest you will ever have to feel like you have a "real job" as a Background Actor (I know that you are probably submitting for more feature type roles through Actors Access and not looking to be a career Background Actor; even know you walk across the street and sip a cup of coffee so nicely).
You should check out Cut Above Casting. They are small, dedicated and the only "act" in town that $$ penalizes you for not being available when you say you are, showing up late or God forbid a no-show. If they have work for you, they will hunt you down if you indicated that you were available. (Better be if you said you were!!).

UnCut for whatever reason, tends to land you with higher paying commercial gigs and productions. You pay them $70 at registration then they take like $10. per booking and work mostly non-union gigs. Why pay $80.00/mo.?

UnCut is smaller so I am not sure if they take everybody and anybody. I would look to Cut Above Casting if you have the money and don't mind spending $80.00/mo which is more than a basic days pay

I highly recommend UnCut Casting.

Regardless, Stay away from Extras. Again, if you feel like you have to pay a monthly fee,(you don't), go to Cut Above.

See you on Set!
Oh shoot ... Rolling ... I am outta here...

Extras Management
Avatar_thumbnail
orlena h. Send private message

Reviews
Written: 1

1.0*
No opinions about this review
07/02/2013

Hello, the negative responses on this is totally correct. I signed up and spent $79.oo and what did I get for it. A scam is what I got! What they do is give you work for the first couple of days so they can keep the $79.oo than nothing but I found out about the scam the first week so I sent in my form asking for my money back than I was told that they did not ever receive my paper work than I was told that they have received it so they can't make up their mind. On top of that I am not going to get my money back. They won't respond to my phone calls, have yelled at me over the phone, won't submit for work, and is keeping my money. Something needs to be done about this company. Do not give them your money. They will not submit you for anything after the first week.

Extras Management
Avatar_thumbnail
Elizabeth P. Send private message

Reviews
Written: 1

1.0*
No opinions about this review
11/19/2011

AVOID EXTRAS MANAGEMENT LIKE THE PLAGUE! I will first say that yes, most everyone in the office (excluding the heinous Gypsy) are very nice and do accommodate schedules without hassle, I don't feel this company gives you what you pay for in the slightest. I have been with them for three months now. I have had almost completely open availability including weekends. The first month I was booked 7 days, the next, 5, and the last month only 3 days. FOR THE ENTIRE MONTH. Are you kidding me? So I paid them $80 to get me two days of non-union pay (about $50 after taxes each) and one day of AFTRA work (about $100 after taxes). That's almost a 50% commission I'm giving to these people! No thanks. The thing that really peeved me was that those three jobs I got were the first three days of the month! They wanted to be sure they got their "minimum" days in right off the bat so that they would get their full $80 for the month. And then they just completely stopped caring to book me. Bottom line- Extras has WAY too many new people signing up. While there IS work out there right now (don't let anyone tell you otherwise), they are only concerned with booking as MANY clients for as FEW DAYS as is necessary. When I first signed up, they immediately stated the disclaimer, "Now, we aren't a bunch of money-hungry pigs- we really do care about getting you work..." Now I know why they needed to make such as bold-faced face lie. Total B.S. Trust me, AVOID THEM AT ALL COSTS. (P.S. There is a great new text-messaging service called Buzz Extras that sends you custom-tailored texts when a new job is posted on the Central Casting line. They're only $20/ month and a MUCH better way to get yourself booked on jobs. http://BuzzExtras.com.)

Extras Management
Avatar_thumbnail
Acrossthemiles Send private message

Reviews
Written: 1

4.0****
0 out of 1 find this review helpful
08/17/2011

To the negative reviews above, you can't expect Extras to hand it to you on a silver platter. I signed up with them in December and didn't get much work until I started going to the visitations at Central Casting twice a month, and submitting my headshots to them, and updating my photos. Once I started doing that, Extras started booking me consistently and regularly. That two years no money back review sounds foolish. Sounds like they weren't doing anything for themselves.

Extras Management
Avatar_thumbnail
jennnnnw Send private message

Reviews
Written: 1

1.0*
0 out of 1 find this review helpful
06/14/2010

Horrible service, no money back like they claimed with them for 2 yrs not ONE job...they lie and give jobs to family if they even get one...they are extremly rude expecially laura or lauren...horrrrrible service and charges a fee also!!do not waste your gas or time! So unprofessional! If there's another review its from them scamming the web again...beware of kids or extras manaement!!!

Hide comments

07/22/2010

They are a scam and extremly rude on top of it. I signed up with them for four months, worked once and now I paid more for their services than I made. Check them out at the Better Business Beaureau before signing up-they have an F rating there.

Reply

Extras Management
Avatar_thumbnail
Daniel S. Send private message

Reviews
Written: 1

5.0*****
1 out of 1 find this review helpful
03/09/2009

Good people, they really work for you.
At times it is hard for me to get jobs because of my hight(im 6'3) but they have being good to me.
Give them a try!
Daniel S.

Extras Management
Avatar_thumbnail
Susie S Send private message

Reviews
Written: 1

5.0*****
1 out of 1 find this review helpful
11/17/2008

If you want to do backgound work on tv/movies/commercials then this is a great company to work with. It is really hard to work regularly if you are on your own as there are about 50 independent casting companies and the BIG one Central Casting. All of the casting companies for background call Extras Management to find available people to book. It has worked well for me so far.

Hide comments

07/21/2011

Hi i am an actor and i do Extra work some times extras mngt is a good company
evreybody wants work they will do their best to get for you if you are union its hard to find work keep pluggin away, don't blame them i have been with them for about 11 years. good luck.

Reply

* Rating

click to rate

* Your Review

Tags: employment agencies, extra work, background work, casting, kids, extras, movies, jobs, acting, actor, actress, extras management, uncut casting, cut above casting, background actor, extra

Add tags: (comma separated)
Example: pizza, pasta, italian

Do You Already Have an OhSoHandy.com Account?  

I'm sorry but you do not appear to have javascript turned on. Don't blame you with all the popups out there. :) Please login or register before creating a new ad.

View Larger Map/Directions »